All content © Bob MuIIins

Round 2 of the French Enduro Championship

Gace, Normandy - 13/4th May

An 8.30am start was required to accommodate the 360 riders who signed on for the second round of the 24MX French Enduro Championship which started in the centre of the small town of Gacé, Normandy. The weather was suitably wet for the Moto Club La Gacéenne's baptism of organising an event at the National level.

The E1 race was very closely fought between Jeremy Tarroux (Sherco) and Jamie McCanney (Yamaha Outsiders) with both riders setting quickest times throughout the day but in the end it was Tarroux who took the win 5 seconds ahead of McCanney, Julien Gauthier (Yamaha B2R) was expected to do well in the wet going however, he never managed to find the right pace and he had to settle for the 5th place. Things went better for next generation with a good performance from the young Husqvarna rider Jeremy Miroir who battled for a long time for the podium with the Lozérien rider Romain Boucardey (Yamaha-Ridercamp) but it was the more experienced Boucardey who took the third step of the podium.

Manu Albepart (YAMAHA) relishes wet grass and slippery soil so the damp condition suited him and he took command of the E2 class with a win on the first special of the day, taking advantage of a mistake by BETA rider Jérémy Joly. Albepart retained the lead until second half of the last lap when he yielded to the intractable Loïc Larrieu (Yamaha - Outsiders) who won by 8 seconds. Nice performance for Albepart who finished second. The two men are joined on the podium by Jérémy Joly.

Local rider  Christophe Nambotin (KTM) responded to the support of family and friends by winning the E3 class and the overall. Another rider who didn't have far to travel was Romain Dumontier (Yamaha-Dumontier Racing) and he went home with the E3 runner up. Anthony Geslin (BETA) was third,

This unusual terrain upset the junior category. Class leader Hugo Blanjoue (EEAT-Yamaha) had a bad day with a 10th place finish and he handed the leadership to Thomas Dubost (KTM) who was the clear winner - his first of the season. Around him on the podium, Kirian Mirabet (Sherco Academy) took second place just in front of his team-mate Theo Espinasse. The latter snatched the podium in the very last special of the day from Xavier Flick. 

Australian rider Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha), who led the Women's class looked to be beaten going into the final stage in 3rd and lagging behind by 13 seconds but she was able to post an incredible time to win by a second and score her third consecutive victory.
It was a bitter pill for Lozerian rider Samantha Tichet (Yamaha) in 2nd and Juliette Berrez (Yamaha) in 3rd. 

Day 2 

The intermittent rain continued and so did the battle between Jérémy Tarroux and Jamie McCanney in the E1 class. The choice of moose proved to be crucial as the grip continually changed between the showers. Once again Tarroux took the win by 2 seconds from McCanney. The race for third place was equally uncertain, giving a glimpse of a podium finish to three riders, Julien Gauthier (Yamaha B2R), Romain Boucardey (Yamaha Ridercamp) and Jérémy Miroir (Husqvarna) but it was finally Miroir who took his second podium of the season by only 2 tenths of a second.

In E1 Championship standings Jeremy Tarroux leads with 77 points ahead of 4 riders on 54 points Jamie McCanney, Julien Gauthier, Jérémy Mirror and Romain Boucardey.

Loïc Larrieu (Yamaha Outsiders) again topped the E2 results sheet and he finished the race with a total of 40 points. In second place was Jérémy Joly (BETA) who scored his best result of the season. The two men are joined on the podium by Pierre Vissac in 3rd. Provisionally the E2 Championship standings are Loïc Larrieu 80 Pts, Pierre Vissac 62 Pts and Jérémy Joly 62 Pts.

There were no surprises in the E3 class. Christophe Nambotin (KTM) once again demonstrated his talent. Looking very comfortable on the slippery specials, he gave the impression that his bike was screwed to the ground. In the shadow of the boss of the category was Romain Dumontier and Anthony Geslin (Beta) was third. E3 Championship standings Christophe Nambotin 80 Pts. Romain Dumontier 68 Pts and Rudy Cotton 52 Pts.

Inevitably the special stages became rutted and Sherco Academy rider Theo Espinasse took advantage of his MX past to win the Junior class by 15 seconds. Thomas Dubost (KTM) achieved the best performances of the weekend to finish second. The third step was occupied by Kirian Mirabet (Sherco Academy). Junior Championship Ranking Theo Espinasse 65 Pts Thomas Dubost 63 Pts Hugo Blanjoue 59 Pts

Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha) - with the support of a recovering Mathias Bellino - won every special to take the win. In second place was Samantha Tichet (Yamaha), followed by the defending French champion Juliette Berrez (Yamaha)  Championship standings Jessica Gardiner 80 Pts. Samantha Tichet 68 Pts and Juliette Berrez 60 Pts

Sherco won the Manufacturers award for the second time this season with the victories of Théo Espinasse and Jérémy Tarroux. Manufacturer standings SHERCO 144 Pts KTM 143 Pts YAMAHA 134 Pts

The second event of the 2017 24MX French Enduro Championship ended with a feeling of mission accomplished for the Moto Club La Gacéenne, The volunteers demonstrated all their passion during the two days of racing and managed the challenge of bringing back a national race to this beautiful corner of France.

The next stage of the French Championship will take place at the well known French Enduro venue of Bar-Sur-Seine, in the heart of the Champagne vineyards, on the 29th and 30th of July.

More info