All content © Bob MuIIins

R.O.R.E and Dorset Enduro winter warmer series

Well done to all who took part in the R.O.R.E and Dorset Enduro winter warmer series, with multiple winners in all classes throughout the events, every round counted.

Round one, in very wet and slippery conditions, was won by Todd Kellet fresh off the back of his Weston beach race victory. In winning he received the James Wright memorial trophy and thanks to everyone’s support we also raised £2500 for charity!

Round two was held at Bovington Ranges, Brad King took the overall win this time out, the rain held off for most of the race but conditions were still tough. Alan Morrison, Johnny Tarr, Stephen Taylor, Alex Schlz, Finlay Davey and Simon Trevaskis won their respective classes.

The third Round was back at Rogershill for the Lee Wheatley Memorial race. Having postponed this event due to ACU technical issues and horrible weather, on the new date, things went well. Brad King fought off early challenges from Brad Rowland and Ricky Wiggins to take the win. The Lee Wheatley trophy went to the best expert/expert vet rider on the day who was Al Morrison. Jack Twentyman, Brett Rowland, Dean Reed, Martin Hallett and Alex Schlz won their respective classes.

Moreton forest was the chosen venue for the fourth round of the series held by Dorset Enduro, Alex Snow was the overall winner, keeping Brad King and Richard Tucker at bay. Not far behind them was the expert winner Alan Morrison who came 5th overall, chased hard by Jack Nixey. Johnny Tarr took the expert vets win and Dad stole my 125 and thrashed it for 3hrs, Thanks for that! Nathan Baggot won Clubman A, Paul Jones clubman B, Dean Reed ov/40 Clubman and Nick Gifford won the sportsman class. The Forest held up well and the weather behaved for the first time in the series!

Round five and the finale was held at Rogershill again and welcomed a new overall winner in Tom Elwood, who easily managed to keep Rob Higgs and Brad Rowland at bay. Ross Blackmore won the experts, preventing Alan Morrison from winning four in a row. Johnny Tarr was on fine form in the expert vets class, running sixth overall, leaving Jack and Dad to battle for second just outside the top ten. Brett Rowland smoked the clubman A class on his 85 although Chris Tite and Finlay Davey kept him honest early on. Clubman B was won by Martin Hallett, with Mark Robson and Charlie White close behind. Andy Claxton decided to hang up his marshalling jacket and win the clubman vets class, halting Dean Reeds domination pushing him to second with Neil Ross in third. Nick Gifford comfortably won the sportsman class a lap ahead of second place Lewis Phillips and Dave Legge in third.

Special mentions from round 5 must go to Dave Kirk who was sporting a Michelin tattoo across his chest and chin after a spectacular tumble. Si Thomas who competed in the expert vets class on a twin shock DR 400 always smiling at the end. Jack Twentyman, who having given his all during the race could barely lift his empty fuel can by the end! Hot tip from a top expert rider, if you take your toilet breaks on the move you save valuable seconds! I wont be buying any 2nd hand boots from him!

A massive thank you, to all who make these events happen, Craig, Pete, Shane, Gary, Dave, Ivan, Paul,chris, Jamie to mention a few! Steve Taylor (wincanton print), Steve Cook (progrip), George (dirthub), Nick (kwacker snapper) and Rob Sartin (talon).

We will be releasing the dates for next years series soon, so keep your eyes peeled! We will be aiming to start a bit earlier in September. The Rogershill team are also planning a standalone summer Saturday event on June 23rd in memory of Ben Saville, so bikes, beers and bands will be involved! Keep this weekend free as we want to make this event something special.