All content Bob MuIIins

Dan Mundell Bounces Back 
Rhayader MCC Evening Xtreme

Mid Wales is a centre of Renewable Energy and Rhayader MCC's Saturday Evening Extreme at Cwmythig Hill is a prime example. 

The event was Round 4 of the Steve Rowlands & Sons sponsored Rhayader Enduro Super Series (RESS). The Rhayader team have developed their Cwmythig Hill complex into a Mecca of Offroading with rock sections, timber matrixes and tyre walls alongside their H&H and MX tracks. 

There was a generous prize fund with 300 for the winner and 150 for the runner up plus 100 for the best Expert and 50 for 2nd. The spectators were catered for with Ice Cream / Burger Vans, Licensed Bar, Marquee and Live Music!

Last year's winner Josh Gotts (TM) made the long trip from Cornwall and lined up alongside MRS Sherco riders Dan Mundell and James Dent, GasGas' Alex Snow and Gethin Humphreys, Charlie Frost on the Eurotek KTM, 2019 SuperEnduro Junior Champion William Hoare. MXer Shane Carless and local hero Alex Walton. 

The first of  two 45 minute heats kicked off at 6.45 pm with Charlie Frost taking the holeshot ahead of Alex Snow and Josh Gotts. Adam Rees kept up a continuous commentary of the race. The weather was sunny and the course was dry and dusty. Josh worked his way to the front of the field and he made the most of the clear air to build up a good lead. He looked to have the first heat sewn up but he collided with a backmarker on the rock section that formed the final corner. With Dan Mundell closing quickly Josh shock himself free and crossed the line with 7 laps - one second ahead of Dan Mundell. William Hoare was 3rd, Alex Snow was 3rd and Shane Carless was 5th. 

Ben Murphy won the Experts. Charlie Chater was runner up and Rhys Davies was 3rd. All 3 clocked up 7 laps. With 6 laps Martin Williams was the Best Clubman ahead of Mason Pritchard and Meilyr Evans. Gareth Leonard took the Over 40 class and Gary McCoy was the Best Over 50. The future looked promising with a strong Under 19 class. Matthew Harries was first, Kris Price was runner up and Jack Hawkins was 3rd. All 3 clocked up 6 laps. 

Race 2 was flagged away at 8.00pm. Dan Mundell was the winner and on times he won the overall. Josh Gotts was 2nd and Alex Snow was 3rd. James Dent was 4th, Gethin Humphreys 5th, Alex Walton 6th and Charlie Frost 7th.

Ben Murphy was the best Expert ahead of Charlie Chater and Rhys Davies. Mason Pritchard topped the Clubman class. Martin Williams was 2nd and Gareth Jones was 3rd. Other class winners were Over 40s 1st Gareth Leonard, 2nd wan Rees. 3rd Ian Pritchard, Over 50s 1st Gary McCoy, 2nd Andy Daniels 3rd 1 Dave Coles. Under 19s 1st Matthew Harries. 2nd Kris Price, 3rd Jack Hawkins. Ladies 1st Heather Raymond. Sportsman 1st Pete Bailey, 2nd Jack Probert, 3rd Dean Hancox.

The Presentation of Awards took place in the marquee after the second race to round off an excellent evening..