Orders Hotline
0161 483 5559

All content Bob MuIIins

Keen Dean

To "celebrate" the last race of the year, LEC put on one of the longest tracks in their calendar to end 2021. Taking place in perfect weather at Dembleby Heath near Grantham, the 130 riders faced a well sorted eight miles of stubble fields, a small quarry area, and a few water splashes thrown into the mix. The venue is now well known for its super fast pace, with only minor excursions into the local woodland to slow the pace this time.

A newcomer to LEC, and riding his Husky 250, "Expert" Dean Simes came out as the winner on the day with twelve laps. However, he didn't have it all his own way. The time sheets suggest lap time differences were only marginal between Dean and second place rider Elliot Milburn. Indeed, Elliots early laps were a shade quicker until Dean took control three quarters of the way through the three hours of racing. In the end, the winning margin for the Sussex lad was only thirty seconds. Having "retired" from Moto X recently, Deans win was all the more pleasing given the big miles he had travelled from the South coast to compete . . . and in only his third Hare and Hounds event to boot. Third place went to Dan Johnson, also on twelve laps and just under a minute adrift of the top two. Even with Danny Caitlin finishing down the field this time out, he is now the 2021 LEC "Experts" champion. Elliots runner up spot at Dembleby sees him finish second overall for the year, with Mark Lonsdale in third (Fourth on the day)

In the Clubman Class, Greg Simms finished a little further down the field that he would have liked. However, his fifth place on the day was enough to see him crowned 2021 champion for the year. The actual race was won by Tom Neave. Himself and seven others amassed eleven laps when the chequered flag went down but Tom had his nose in front by well over a minute from Thomas Sargent in second. Alex Cumberland was third. Whilst not competing on the day, Toby Hales has secured runner up spot for the year, with Matthew Parkinson and Darren Cox now sharing third place.

In the Over 40's class. lee Hattersley cemented his place as 2021 champion with a win in class on the day. With eleven laps under his belt, Lee's winning margin was over four minutes from runner up Darren Thorpe, who has now secured the same place for the year. Jason Cowlishaw came home in third place on the day, some two minutes behind Darren. With a fourth position, Dean Kent finishes in third for 2021. The top four on the day has eleven laps under their belts when the flag came down after the three hours.

The only rider in any class to win every race this year is in the Over 50's section. Apart from a "dropped round" which riders can use in the year, Alan Vissian has scored maximum points every time he has raced with the club. That obviously sees him being crowned champion for that class. Andy Harvey finished second on the day but doesnt feature at the top in the overall standings. Ian Shepherd does though. His third place on the day sees him placed second for 2021 whilst Mark Peckitt was fourth, thus cementing his third place for the year. (Given that the club threw a "Le Mans" start into the mix for this last race, lets hope the riders in this class and over 60's didn't feel like they were going to spontaneously combust after the short sprint to their steeds. It certainly didnt show ! . .these classes are as competitive as any other !). John Cotterill with his third place on the day in the over 60's, sees him taking the years spoils, with Kev Bartle Sr taking the runner up spot with his fifth win of the year. Anthony Williamson moves into third for 2021 with his runner up position at the weekend. Kevins win was by some two laps (ten) from Anthony and John on eight.

In the Sportsman 2T class, only one competitor was on eleven laps after three hours. Jake Nortons extra lap over and above his rivals has afforded him runner up spot for the year. With his runner up place on the day, William Tarrant still doesnt appear in the 2021 top three but Ryan Overtons third place does. It now sees him crowned champion. Matthew Valentine was fifth on the day which sees him clinch third overall.( Jake had accumulated eleven laps at the end, William and Ryan both on ten)

In the 4 Bangers class, Joe Tapper is crowned champion. At Dembleby he was a lap behind eventual winner Kane Williamson but still takes the years laurels. (Eleven and ten laps respectively). Adam Reavill was on the same amount of laps as Joe but a minute adrift in third. Alex Shaw's fifth on the day secures him the other podium place for 2021

Sean Avison is top dog in the Trail/Classic series. He was second on the day behind eventual winner Carl Smalley, and a lap adrift. Carls win sees him in the Bronze medal for the year whilst Steve Kemp's third equates to runner up overall.

As normal, there are no points given out in the Beginners section. However, the top three on the day were Callum Cowlishaw (9 laps), Ben Allen (9) and Mike Livsey (8).

The club would like to take this final opportunity of the year to thank everyone involved with the running of races etc for 2021. All marshalls, helpers, first responders, track setters, food suppliers etc etc. In particular, a special thank you goes out to Ticktock timing who have been with the club from the get go but are now moving onto pastures new. Here's looking forward to another successful year in 2022.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/LincolnshireEnduroClub  for members . . . . or here for non members https://lincolnshireenduro.wixsite.com/lec2016

Photos are as follows . Dean Simes (No.732) carving his way to overall victory. William Sharpe (No 502) and Steve Dickinson (No 370


Report by Martin Southwick/Photos by Graham Taylor